Oh Yeah…I Almost Forgot…

Cigarettes

Originally uploaded by kelletteoconnor.

…I'm a non-smoker!!

I used to smoke…about a pack a day. I've tried quitting on numerous occasions but would never make it beyond a week with smoking again. Smoking was the main source of stress in my life. I worried about my health, I worried about smelling like smoke, I would always smoke outside and then I would avoid people until I could wash my hands and eat a mint. I was a stress puppy!

Well today, a colleague asked how long it had been since I quit smoking. I had to consciously stop and consider what she asked. Then I realized it is actually two months to the day. Not long I know but I also know it is long enough to keep me from ever starting again because it seems so much longer and I feel so much better.

I still don't know why this last attemp to quit seemed so easy but I'm not about to complain. I know part of it is due to my partner Mark for quitting with me and being strong. Another factor is a dear friend who took a late night call from us on the third day when we were about to breakdown. But for some reason, that third day was the hurdle we needed to jump, and once we did it was all downhill.

So, I need to thank my colleague, my partner and my dear friend Carol because I can now proudly state, I AM A NON-SMOKER!

One response to “Oh Yeah…I Almost Forgot…

  1. NON SMOKERS ROCK! I’m so proud of you for quitting…

Leave a Reply

