Domestic Divas Do Double Duty

It’s berry season in the Northwest and we loves us some fresh berries!

raspberries.jpg
In our house, berry season marks the beginning of canning season. Yes, we also love the not so ancient art of ‘putting things by’. With such a short growing season we like to extend the flavors of summer throughout the year. This past weekend we did double duty, making both freezer and cooked jams.

ready-for-jars.jpg
Mmmm…cooked berries.

stirring-freezer-jam.jpg
Freezer jam getting mixed and ready to pour.

cooked-freezer-jams.jpg
Cooling.

finshed-product.jpg
Finished product.

Then on Monday, a colleague left some blueberries on my desk…

blueberries.jpg
Which I took home and with the help of a little butter, sugar and flour and egg.

muffin-mix.jpg
And a little time in the oven…

muffins-in-oven.jpg
Turned into these…

muffins.jpg

Which makes the coworkers love me even more. In fact, I’m beginning to think that is exactly why the blueberries were left with me in the first place.

In parting…I want to share this picture of my very handsome sous chef extroadinaire.

hot-in-here.jpg

Who wouldn’t want to spend a few hours in a hot kitchen with him?

10 responses to “Domestic Divas Do Double Duty

  1. stunning photos!
    I am mad jealous; I would love to be able to can berrie like that!

  2. It’s really easy and it doesn’t take much time at all. Wait till you see our Spicy Dilled Green Beans and fagtastic Salsa Verde!

  3. When I was a kid we used to pick wild raspberries, blackberries, blackcaps, and blueberries and make jams.

  4. Your camera takes fabulous pictures! And I want some fagtastic Salsa Verde!

  5. E! You know you can have all the salsa you want! Of course it won’t be ready until late summer. We’re even going to make a mild batch for all the wimps out there.

    The camera is sooo old. First generation Sony Cybershot that cost an arm and a leg at the time but still takes whopping hot shots! It also has a rechargeable battery that lasts days. Of course everything looks better in the new kitchen!

    Did you notice the salt cellar and olive oil dispenser? You are in our thoughts everytime we cook…which is constantly!

  6. I still have more salt for you! I stocked up before I left France. 😉 I’ll try to put that in the mail this weekend!!

  7. Kewl! I take it the caramels have been consumed. Girl’s best friend when she’s feeling down?

  8. something about those berries and cherries I’ll never forget about Portland, Oregon.

  9. Nope, I still have some caramels too! I’ll put them in the package!

  10. Derek – You callin’ us all a bunch of fruits?

    You’d be right! ; ) Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

