A Pain in the…Elbow?

I was recently diagnosed with medial epicondylitis, otherwise known as Golfer’s Elbow. I do love to golf but I’m not what one would call a ‘golfer’, especially since I haven’t golfed in over a year. Of course this ailment is caused not only by golfing but overuse of the wrist. Hmmm…let’s not go there!

After spending the past 8 weeks icing my elbow and performing some rather entertaining exercises (especially entertaining to those who know I’m a ‘Friend of Dorothy’), it looks as though I’ll need a cortisone shot. This was the last option on my list but with the garden harvest coming soon and the house painting, garage cleaning, deck refinishing and ultimately…vacation in NYC…I need to make the pain go away.

One of my dearest friends, a physical therapist who specializes in hands and arms, recommends the cortisone shot. She has helped with past ailments such as Mark’s ‘Tennis Elbow’ (no he doesn’t play tennis), and the Ulnar Nerve Entrapment I experienced last year. She believes in trying every possible natural option before turning to drugs, but in this case feels the cortisone shot the best option. So, as much as I dread this, I trust her opinion and will be in the Doctor’s office at 8:00 am tomorrow morning for what I know will be a daunting and painful procedure. I only hope all goes well and I can enjoy the remainder of my summer and our holiday in New York. After that it will be winter and, if the pain returns, Mark will have to chop and haul all the wood while I sit by the fire and ice my elbow and flex my wrist.

Maybe this doesn’t sound so bad after all!

Leave a Reply

