Head Cold

Yep…I’ve come down with a terrible headcold and at the worst possible time. The garden is in the throes of heavy harvest and I can’t taste a thing. Well actually, I could this morning which was a good thing because we stopped by a tomato tasting at a local nursery and I was able to taste over 60 varieties of tomatoes.

232400102_2092098b49.jpg

It was great circling the tables of tomatoes with a bunch of other tomato enthusiasts and discussing the various types and tastes. We’ve come to the conclusion that all German varieties are mushy and probably only good for canning. It must be their weather.

232400204_58f84676f9.jpg

I found a couple varieties I’d like to try and grow but the ones I liked best we’re already growing. In fact one of our favorite tomatoes, the Sun Gold, has been a crown favorite at this tasting the past two years. It is a very sweet cherry tomato that produces more tomatoes than we can eat! I take bowls of them to the office every year for snacking and my colleagues practically fight over them.

By mid-afternoon my luck had run out and my head was so plugged up that not only did I lose my sense of taste, I couldn’t even smell the stewed tomatoes Mark was canning from our garden.

228825594_557e52aa14.jpg

I wanted to help but my energy level is very low and I think I should take it easy for a day or two. Fortunately, there is plenty of football on this weekend and hopefully the rain will clear out and the US Open will resume on Sunday.

I do hate spending my Labor Day weekend feeling under the weather, especially when the weather is so beautiful! I think tomorrow I’ll spend some time lounging on the deck with this deliciously humorous book I’m reading, “Bachelor Brothers Bed & Breakfast” by Bill Richardson. Oh, it’s such a fun read that I don’t want to put it down but then I don’t want to finish it too quickly either. Don’t you just love books like that? A highly recommended read. If I feel up to it I may talk Mark into stopping by Art in the Pearl which should make for an entertaining afternoon and should be the perfect place to do some early Christmas Shopping. If nothing else I should get some great people photos and fodder for my Friday postings. I’ll have to play it by ear though as the corn (unintentional pun) will be ready to pick this week and I would hate not being able to taste it after waiting all summer. I think we’ll have to have a good old fashioned corn feed supplemented by fresh picked tomatoes. Any takers?

Hope you all are enjoying your holiday weekend!

8 responses to “Head Cold

  1. I was practially swooning and in tears over these gorgeous photos! Thank you for posting them. Over the years I have grown over 50 types of heirlooms – oh I miss them so.
    BBBB is one of my favorite books! I didn’t know anyone in the USA knew of this series.
    Oh, those dreadful Solomon Solomon poems…..
    I so love your blog!

  2. The weather is great here in Amsterdam! I’m thinking about your caramels in my cupboard at home! 😉

  3. sorry to hear about the head cold. maybe canning would help steam it out of your head.

    and so you know, i was inspired by your tomato tasting post that i stopped at most every stand i passed on the way back home today so now we have a kitchen full for our own tasting. looks like tomato sandwiches for lunch this week.

    oh, and i posted bigger pictures of your favorite courthouse (zebulon) and my favorite (ellaville) for viewing pleasure and comparison. happy labor day and feel mo’bettah soon.

  4. I would live a tomato fest as one of the top five things I would like to do someday.

  5. You inspired me over the weekend. I made and froze tomato sauce from the garden, prepped and froze green beans from the garden, dried tarragon from the herb garden and made peach ice cream. But your vegetable garden still beats mine hands down.

    Nice tomato pix.

  6. Yea Doug! We’ll all be eating fresh, tasty garden grub in February. Makes it all worth it!

    I’ll forward your message to Mark (my partner) at Scuff Productions (see links) as he’s done most of the canning this past week and is mostly responsible for the garden. We’re working on getting the comments set up on his site as he has a different version of wordpress.

  7. I live in Salem and I would love to visit that nursery if they are still doing the tomato tasting! What’s the name of the nursery and where is it?

Leave a Reply

