Busy Week Ahead

Yes, the blog will probably suffer this week as I kick into high gear for our trip. It’s been a long time since I’ve taken a full two week vacation and even longer since the entire two weeks were spent away from home. We usually tend to take a week or 10 days and buffer it on either end with some time at home but not this time. I have one day between leaving work and catching a plane and return with only one day to recover. Fortunately the boss will have left for China so I can take my time catching up with work and I don’t have to look fabulous. Not that that has ever been an issue.

I’m trying to tie up all the loose ends and gather as much information as possible into a document so our receptionist can try to fill in where needed. The funny part is I’ll go through all this preparation so she can take care of the big boy and he’ll decide to work from home most days. It’s funny…he prefers I take vacation when he’s not traveling but once I’m gone he prefers to work from home. So, she’ll have very little to do other than e-mail him his schedule.

Of course I have plenty to do at home this week as well. We have the house/dog sitter lined up and briefed but we have a few arrangements to make for her and then we have some last minute shopping to do before we can start packing. Packing willbe fun because there’s no telling what the weather will be. It’ll be cool but not necessarily cold so there are layers to account for but then things may change drastically over two weeks so we must prepare for cold as well. We have a dog to wash, laundry and cleaning, making arrangements to get from home to the airport and then from the airport to the hotel, return arrangements, mail to stop. The list goes on… and yes…it will all come together rather easily and we will undoubtedly forget something or another but it still seems like there is too much to do. This is the very part of traveling that I don’t enjoy, well this and sitting in airports.

So, come Sunday morning I’ll be sitting in that aiport but I’ll be feeling much better than I am today and I’ll remember what it is that I forgot to pack and will make a mental note to pick it up on the other end. But until then, I’m going to go through my usual anal retentive double checking and worrying which always makes the actual vacation that much better. Yep, it’s gonna be a busy week, but I’m so looking forward to it!

2 responses to “Busy Week Ahead

  1. you have a fun time on your two week holiday.
    I look forward to hearing all about it.

  2. Dog washing? Mail stopping?

    You sound worse than my mother.

Leave a Reply

