Soup

I have been in serious soup mode for the past few days. When I get sick, the only food I want is soup…soup and a few crackers. I don’t know why that is considering I don’t usually eat soup. I do like a good chowder every once in a while but in my mind those aren’t soups. Chowders are rich, hearty, and loaded with goodness. Soup is thin and watery with very little substance. It’s soupy!

I’m tellin’ ya’ though that when this bug bit me this past weekend, it gave me a huge dose of soupitis. I have been eating soup daily since Saturday and just can’t get enough of it. I brought a large can of soup to work yesterday thinking I’d eat half and save half for today. Nope, didn’t happen. I ate the whole damn can! Today, I brought another large can of soup and just ate half of it. Now I’m craving more. I’m freaking addicted to soup!

Fortunately the sore throat has dissipated and I’m left with only the head congestion and general malaise so it shouldn’t be much longer before the soup cravings stop. But still…I want to know why they start. What is the connection? Is it cultural? My mom never pushed the soup on me when I was a kid so I don’t think it started there. In fact I don’t remember having those cravings when I was sick as a kid. I always wanted hot dogs and macaroni & cheese…but that’s a whole other post.

I guess at some point I simply fell victim to the media and pop culture and I’ve been brainwashed into believing that I need to eat soup when I’m not well…and that really makes me sick! I’m off to finish the other half can of soup.

7 responses to “Soup

  1. I love soup. I have it all the time, but especially when I’m sick and too lazy even to chew. I think it’s the combination of warm liquid on a sore throat and the whole thing about not chewing that makes soup especially wonderful when sick. I’m feeling perfectly well myself, and yet — I hear a can of Chunky Vegetable Beef calling my name …

  2. Soup remains my favorite dish; I could have a new one each day.
    I’ll send you some of my favorites if you lack recipes of noew ones.

  3. Please share some favorite soup recipes. I need some new ones: I have a great sopa de albondigas recipe if you want to trade…

  4. Yes…send recipes!

  5. R,

    There simply is nothing better than soup…comfort food. Now I have some cravings for it but it’s to late for a bowl. Maybe that is my dinner tomorrow night.

  6. We just made some awesome cream of chantrelle mushroom soup this week and had it on 2 nights. Not cause we’re sick but because Fall & Winter are the best times to have it. So once youre recovered, go ahead and keep havin soup.

  7. Proper chicken soup, made from proper chicken stock is the best thing for a cold. They don’t call it ‘Jewish penicillin’ (sp?) for nothing!

Leave a Reply

