Quiet Time

The holiday weekend culminated with a nice quiet day at home while a wild storm raged outside. The winds whipped the trees and the rain was coming down sideways. It was pretty fierce and the perfect excuse to stay in and watch football, eat and read. As I write this the carcass from our after T-day dinner is simmering away on the stove creating the perfect stock for a nice turkey vegetable soup. I went searching for the wishbone once all the bones started falling apart and then realized I must have crushed it when I broke the ribcage apart to fit in the pot. Is that bad luck? Will I now only have broken wishes? Can I still wish upon a star (provided I get to see one before spring)? So many questions.

They’re forecasting snow overnight and we’re supposed to wake up to a whopping inch here at 1000 feet. The snow level should drop as low as 500 feet which means snow in the yard but none at work which really bums me out. We should get an extra couple inches during the day tomorrow but if it’s not snowing at work then I feel cheated. We don’t get a lot of snow around here so when it does come I want to be able to enjoy it. I’ll often take the day off so I can stay home and play and make a snowman, but with only a few inches possible I’d have to make a snow dwarf and that’s not worth a vacation day. Then again this talk of snow may be for naught as the forecasters here are unreliable. When they first started talking snow earlier in the week they claimed a possible six inches tonight; it is entirely likely I’ll wake to just rain in the morning. Of course I can always make a trip to the mountain if I want to get my snow fix but it’s much more fun when you don’t have to drive and can go back in the house for hot chocolate when you need to thaw the fingers.

2 responses to “Quiet Time

  1. A lazy day…I wish we’d get some rain down here in SoCal. I so need a bit of change in the season. I won’t complain about the sun but it just isn’t the same not getting more of a seasonal change like I use to get in the Bay Area. Happy Holidays!

  2. there is no bad luck in that; only the lost opportunity for making a wish.

Leave a Reply

