Day 30…and I’m out of here!

Today is the final day of NaBloPoMo and I’m happy to have fulfilled my commitment to post every day this month. It wasn’t as tough as I thought it might be and I only fell into the meme thing one day. Not bad for a non-writer; although my readers may feel differently.

So, tonight I’ll prepare my ‘Phun Photo Phriday’ for tomorrow and then I’m out of here…for the weekend.

But before I do….one last piece about my dog because he really deserves those fabulous doggie biscuits made by Emily, and because this whole event may be his ploy to ensure winning said biscuits. I’m telling you he’s smarter than the average dog. Have I said that before?  Sorry.

Today I came home to find Mark staring at the floor, moving slowly through the garage. I gave him a quizzical look and he said he thought Mac’s foot was cut. I walked into the house to find a bazillion specks of blood all over the kitchen floor, the dining room floor, the family room carpet, the living room carpet, the hallway carpet, the bathroom, the….you get my point. I quickly changed my clothes and went to see what he’d found and sure enough, Mac sliced the tips off of not one, not two, but three of his toe pads. His nails are fine but the tips of the pads in between just won’t stop bleeding.

We animal lovers know that dogs will be dogs and they can take a licking and keep on licking (ooh, that’s bad) but you still freak out when you see blood. Worse yet is trying to stop the bleeding in such an akward place. I grabbed the dog drawer* from the bathroom and proceeded to clean, dress and wrap his wounds and entire paw. It stopped the bleeding for a while but after a few unsupervised minutes of licking, the bandage was off and the wounds open again. Back to the drawer, another round of medical care, and now he’s laying on the bed in front of me watching me hold the the Bitter Apple. He absolutely hates Bitter Apple so we don’t even have to spray it anymore. Just show him the bottle and he stops licking the bandage.

It looks like I’ll be keeping this vigil for the rest of the night and hopefully he’ll get used to the bandage by tomorrow. He usually does. Of course with Mac’s blind bounds down the hill to chase the squirrels or the racoons or a stick or ball, it will only be a matter of time before the drawer comes out again.

Still…you gotta love ’em…how can you not?

310809449_8ce82850d2.jpg

*Yes, we have an entire drawer devoted specifically to dog medical care. We live in the woods, we have to.

7 responses to “Day 30…and I’m out of here!

  1. Sorry to hear about Mac.

  2. Oh I know about pet wounds and even home surgical procedures. I could tell you a few Rodger from when I was a teen. congrats on achieving your commitment goal to yourself. We’ll have to chat some more on our Bay Area days soon.

  3. Sorry I’ve missed so many of your posts this month, I didn’t realise you’d set yourself a goal! Well done on achieving it!

    Sorry to hear about Mac too, poor fella!

  4. Excellent job wrapping him up! Poor guy.

  5. I suppose I better have an arsenal of doggie first aid readily available too… Poor Mac! Hope it heals quick.

  6. He was such a CUTE puppy!

  7. Poor Mac. Even injured that’s a great picture of him. He’s a real cutie. Hope he mends fast.

Leave a Reply

