Tree’s Up!

I spent the weekend running around getting food ordered and supplies purchased for the Holiday Party at work this coming Friday. I guess I’ve been doing this long enough that it comes together rather easily. I was able to get most everything done by mid-afternoon Saturday which left time to go get the Christmas tree.

The tree requires a bit of rearranging in the family room but we were able to get that done quickly and then we zipped down the hill for the tree. Surprisingly we liked the very first tree we looked at and had it home and in the house in less than an hour. I felt so good about it that I started putting the lights on that evening. I would have finished but the tree is so tall and full it needed more lights than we had available. We made a run to the store but they didn’t have what we were looking for and by then it was 9:00 so we gave up.

Sunday was even more surprising because not only did we purchase the lights but we were able to completely decorate the tree. Around here the tree trimming usually takes about a week. For some reason we spend a lot of time placing and moving the ornaments…but not this year. I guess we’re just filled with the spirit…or is that filled with spirits? Yes, some alcohol was involved but not enough to regret the next morning.

It feels nice to have the tree up and the boxes put away. I feel kind of lost, like I don’t know what I’m going to do for the next few weeks. A feeling I’m sure won’t last beyond NOW since typing it has made me feel guilty sitting here blogging.¬† I’d better go…

5 responses to “Tree’s Up!

  1. well, how about a photo of this marvelous tree?

  2. yes yes. i wanna see too!

  3. I’ll add my voice to the chorus wanting a picture of the tree.

  4. It’s not easy getting a decent shot with my little camera but I’ll see what I can do. Also, be prepared for something very traditional as I don’t have the ‘gay decorator gene’ and I refuse to channel Martha Stewart.

Leave a Reply

