New Digs

One of the ‘readers’ of NaBloPoMo liked my site but wasn’t very fond of my design because the past posts reduce to a smaller font making them hard to read. I’ve also heard from a couple friends that they have trouble reading white text on a black background. On my MAC the background is actually a very dark brown which plays well off the brown titles heading the posts.

Tonight I was on the PC in our office and decided to jump over to my blog and was stunned to see the background is BLACK. Not only was it black…it was FUGLY! Those Burnt Sienna titles look awful on the black background and the text appears stark white. So it’s time to find some new digs for this here blog. I hate the thought of changing it all again but better to do it now while my aging brain remembers where and how to use code in the WordPress templates.

Any tips or suggestions?

9 responses to “New Digs

  1. I know all too well the daunting thought of changing my WordPress template. It’s not that it is difficult, but that I know my current template in and out. That’s why I choose to keep my basic 3-column template and just make changes to it from within.

    Most likely, you can go into your current template and simple play around with color codes until you find something you like. Change the colors–not the template.

    I also see your backgraound as dark brown…but then, I’m looking through a Mac as well.

  2. Its dark brown over here too! (Macs rule!)

  3. Thanks Scott…I’ll see what I can do with the color first. I hadn’t thought of that…doh!

  4. I also see the brown on my pc using firefox.

  5. Our PC uses firefox but it shows up black. Maybe it’s the monitor.

  6. Rodger…

    I have a MAC Powerbook and unlike you and Scott , I see your blog as a black backround too…not brown as you two do. It could be the browser. I know that if I use my old Explorer browser I get a totally different look than when I switch to using my current Firefox browser. Switching to another blog account may or may not have its advantages. Mnay offer different options so it becomes a matter of preference.

  7. For me, the background is a nice, deep chocolate (but then, I’m using a Mac). Looks nice. I relly like the foliage in the banner.

  8. darned if I know how to remedy your matter, but I do not find your blog’s appearance ugly. it looks chic.

  9. Well then…I guess I’ll just keep it as it is and quit looking at it on my PC. I’m sure I’ll change the appearance in a few months as I’m wont to do but for now it’ll stay.

    Thanks everyone for letting me know how it looks on your end!

Leave a Reply

