Last Evening

It was a delightful evening chatting over pints with me rockin’ mate Toni.

Now say that with a nice Irish Brogue and you’ll get an idea of the mood last night. Toni and I were finally able to find time in our schedules to hook up for drinks and it’s been far too long! We’ve been trying to get together since her return from Burning Man in early September and when we finally do I get absolutely no stories about The Burn. Nope. None!

Okay, it’s been so long, we didn’t have time to talk about a lot of things including my trip to NYC on which she commented that she couldn’t believe I was seeing so many shows. Well hello girl! I’m a faggot…with a musical theatre degree…What. Did. You. Expect? But I digress.

We hooked up at this quaint little restaurant in SW Portland, Leaky Roof. It is owned by an Irishman and since Toni hails from Dublin I thought it only right she meet some of her peeps here in town. (Well…truth be told I had eaten there just two days earlier and after chatting with the owner’s brother who waits tables there decided this was where we should meet for drinks.) It turned out to be the perfect spot and she and the waiter, Connor, and his brother Seamus (the owner) had great conversations about the homeland while I sat quietly sipping my Guinness interjecting the occasional mention of my Irish ancestry. I jest!

It was a great evening with good beer, better food and even better company. I realized it’s been too long since we last hooked up and we really need to get together soon, very soon, like just after the holidays so I can get the scoop on Burning Man. I hear there’s a video!

Let’s not wait so long this time…okay girl?

3 responses to “Last Evening

  1. Sometimes you just need to make the time to meet up with friends to catch up.

    Hey Rodger…you ever head down to SF Pride?/ ? I might be making sure I am there this year. There is some stirring going on about possibly having a West Coast Blogger gathering the same weekend. That could make for a wild weekend.

  2. Sounds like a lovely evening! Sometimes we just leave it too long with some folks eh?

  3. How about tonight then? Only messin… 😉
    Thank you for such a lovely write-up! Meanwhile, over on toekneeb.blogspot.com I’m writing depressing pieces on oregon tragedies and car crashes. I must lighten up in my blog…!
    Yes it was great fun at the Leaky Roof. We’re both such chatterboxes, we need much more than 3hrs to catch up on 3mths! Next time I’ll give you the full lowdown on BM…

Leave a Reply

