What I Learned…

…on my “throw-the-back-out-load-the-new-iPod-because-you-can’t-do-anything-else” vacation:

* Since selling all my vinyl with the intention of replacing it on CD…I’ve replaced approximately 10%. I really need to correct this issue.

* I’m embarassed to say that I own a George Michael album. I believe it belongs to Mark but that may be wishful thinking. Of course I shouldn’t dis Mark right now since he did make Kory’s Full-Flavor chili this past weekend while I was laid up.

Kory’s Full-Flavor Chili is fanfuckingtastic!! Mark added some peppers….some other peppers and…more peppers. Yep, we like it hot and spicy! But I digress. Did I say… Kory’s Full-Flavor Chili is fanfuckingtastic?!!

Back to what I’ve learned…

* What I have replaced is usually replaced by a debut album and then a greatist hits or “b” sides album. That sucks because now I miss a lot of the treasures you only find by buying the actual album. This too must be corrected.

* Box sets are a partial remedy to this but still not the answer.

* I really miss my Miles Davis collection!! I’ve only replaced about 5 of 30 and now must go on a spending spree.

* Some of the music I listened to years ago really sucks but I want to re-buy it anyway. Why is that?

* I have a shitload of experimental or ‘new’ music. Ever heard of Charlemagne Palestine? How about Meredith Monk?

* I really miss the SF Symphony’s “New & Unusual Music Series”.

* Am I really gay? I don’t own a single Madonna album…or a Cher album.

* I do own a fair amount of Streisand…but everything started sounding the same about 15 years ago. What a waste not to have ventured into jazz with a voice like that. The closest she came was Funny Lady’s “My Man”.

* Oh, nevermind. My Musical Theatre collection redeems me!

* After uploading six Pet Shop Boy’s albums…all of which belong to Mark…I had to pull out the big guns and copy the Janice Joplin box set and some Dead Kennedys. I’m just so NOT 80’s pop! Butthole Surfers anyone?

* Orchestral Manouvres in the Dark, Depeche Mode and Klaus Nomi…okay…I’m SO 80’s pop. Berlin ayone?

* I love me some opera…but not on the iPod…that’s strictly for home listening!

* I still use the term “album”.

I have a lot of music left to rip so I’m sure to learn much more. I may also have to exchange this iPod for the 80 GB version since this one is about full. With all the music I now need to purchase it’s too bad the 120 GB version isn’t out yet.

Oh well…there goes the budget!

5 responses to “What I Learned…

  1. WOW! OK, thanks for the plug. Glad Mark tailored the chili to your insanity-pepper needs. As for putting in music you don’t like anymore, same here. I don’t know why I even have White Zombie/Rob Zombie in the library, I skip it every time it comes up.

  2. Mark H has NEVER owned a George Michael Album as a point of clarification. He “may” have owned some Pet Shop Boys that haven’t been listened to for 14 years, but “Mark” isn’t the guy uploading them to an IPOD that won’t have even enough storage for all the personal favorites of that Ipod’s owner……… hm…..

    There is NO shame in owning a Pet Shop Collection. Remember that Dancing Phase in one’s life? Just put on your “happy feet and GO !

  3. hohoho
    not to be worrying about the no-cher situation. Your pink card is safe and sound, with the SF orchestra, opera, and George Michael (shocking when he came out,no?)

  4. I think we’re doomed to always calling them “albums”, even another 30 years from now. It just sounds and feels right.

  5. Sorry to read you’ve not been well Rodger, but hope you’re well on the road to recovery by now!

    Madge & Cher; slightly over-rated imho too
    Depeche Mode; Greatest band ever, and with a fair amount of pink attraction! (Dave Gahan’s bum? WOOF!)
    Albums; Always will be!

    Great news…I’ve found for sale a turntable that has no speakers but a USB cable, so it automatically loads everything onto your pc and turns all your old vinyls into MP3’s. It’s on my wish list for this year!!

Leave a Reply

