Ruditity

I‘m terribly rude! I give my blog a face-lift and then run off and neglect it for a week as though I didn’t want to see all the bruising. Well, that’s really not the case. The fact is that I took a couple days off after the holiday and with all this beautiful weather we’ve had I just couldn’t sit still long enough to post. I didn’t even keep up with my buds by reading their blogs and that’s ultimate ruditity. Okay…ruditity isn’t a word, but if Ginormous can be included in the new Webster’s then ruditity won’t be far behind. Mark my (new) word.

So, friends, I did actually drop in on a few of you over this past week but only briefly as I searched online for trailheads on the wild Wilson River or fireworks stands whose sales support the larger, threatened shows. After all…it just isn’t The Fourth if you can’t take all your youngsters out to the local lake, river or historic site for a family picnic, followed by a massive fire fest with a finale accompanied by a live performance of Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture with real cannons…right?

Not having youngsters of my own, I prefer to avoid overcrowded fields full of obnoxious drunks fighting over blanket space and whose child accidentally kicked over their beer. Yeah, I prefer to stay home with my illegal fireworks, and dear neighbors, and discuss the appropriate age for children to move up from sparkler, to Roman Candle, to lighting mortars that rival those large blooms found at the public displays.

Silvery Blast.JPG

Of course, once I convince the parent that their child is old enough…and said parent agrees…I cannot be held liable for any mishap.

But I digress.

The Annual Skyline Hamlet Potluck and Fireworks Extravaganza went off without a hitch. The food was fabulously standard American Independence Day fare with a few non-traditional gems thrown in to keep this eclectic group sated. The crowd, a jovial mix of locals, friends, family and children reminded me how the adults become more childlike on this particular holiday. Once our host, Baird, pulled out his infamous home-made, Steel-Wool-Ring-O-Fire…

Baird Steel Wool.JPG
(Baird shows how it’s done)

…all the adults were clamoring to be the next to give it a whirl. Women and men alike! Meanwhile, the kids, well taught about the danger of fire, wanted nothing to do with that fierce ball of molten metal.

Joy Steel Wool.JPG
(Joy spins some serious heat!)

The next few days were spent trekking to the coast and a couple rivers….

Wilson River.JPG

…with the dog…

Mac retrieving.JPG

…and working in the yard. You see, when you get good weather in Oregon, you take full advantage and neglect all other calls to duty; my father called a week ago and I still haven’t returned his call. Am I an asshole? No. I’m an Oregonian! (okay…transplanted but acclimated!)

We only have this weather for 3 short months, and during those months we’ll even get a few days of rain. Not hot, sunny, tropical rain but cool, overcast skies rain. Therefore, we must enjoy the weather above all else…or be forever depressed!

Sorry dad.

So, tonight I blog and hopefully catch up on my reading. Tonight, with temps finally dropping from 100 (that’s another story) to a comfortable, breezy 84, I can sit here in my favorite spot on the deck and toast the WiFi Gods for allowing me this opportunity. I’m watching the Goldfinches and Chickadees feed their young as I type. The squirrels and chipmunks come in occasionally to chase off the young birds and later, the flying squirrels will drop in for breakfast. The bats will swing by for their early meal as well and not long after…the owls.

On that note…I’m off to make a late, light dinner and then return here to catch up with my friends, before heading off to sleep under the heady perfume of the Catalpa Tree.

7 responses to “Ruditity

  1. YAY! Your Back! Lovely post, and some amazing photographs. Both the river/bridge shot and the spark circle haloing your host, were just beautiful. I am so jealous of your natural surroundings, and your ability to just go out for a day hike in such splendiforous settings. I guess you are punished by gray skies and drizzle most of the year, but damnit, I’m punished by miserably cold weather, and gray black road snow. I really need to move. Anyhoo, glad you are finally back, you were missed.

  2. Geez, I was running around all over and I still managed more posts than thou………..

    Welcome back!

  3. Ok Rodg…I’ll excuse your ruditity since you managed to stop by my blog (but only after my little email to you I suspect – LOL!).

    Looks like you have enjoyed yourself. Outdoors looks incredible. I need to get up and see you and a bit of Portland. I love that gadget your neighbor made up for 4th of July. Exactly what is it made up of?

  4. when i was a kid, fireworks were the mainstay of any picnic on the 4th. our farm was filled with the sound of them from noon until midnight.

  5. The homegrown firewworks show looked like a lot of fun. Any your out door pictures made me realize that I need to get back to the Pacific Northwest. Unfortunately, that won’t happen this summer.

  6. Jealous, jealous, jealous… I can’t leave the house without bursting into flames. 🙂

  7. wow. wow. wow. gorgeous photos. fantastic summertime in oregon. lucky you. i feel a little lucky myself, as if some of it has rubbed off on me just by virtue of reading this. maybe it will rain tonight! get a little cooler!

Leave a Reply

