It’s Raining

What the fuck is up with this weather? As if the outrageous humidity and thunderstorms of a couple weeks ago weren’t enough now we have to suffer through cloudy skies and drizzle. The vegetable garden is not happy and I’m going to be really pissed if the tomatoes are all mealy and the corn doesn’t sweeten up. Portland’s summers are short enough as it is but then to have cloudy gray skies and temps in the mid-70’s for over a week in August…aaaaarrrrrggggghhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!

On a happy note…I received an e-mail Friday morning informing me that Todd Rundgren is playing the Aladdin Theater in September. I’ve been a Todd fan for what seems like forever thanks to my cousin who turned me on to the Faithful Album nearly 30 years ago. Yep, forever ago. Not long after we saw him with his band Utopia and I was hooked. I’ve seen him numerous times since, both with and without the band, and never been disappointed. And…he’s playing my favorite venue, a theater so small you feel like your sitting in a friend’s living room. Needless to say I purchased tickets immediately, so there’s a ray of sunshine on this otherwise gloomy day.

Ya’ know…I think I’m just going to blow this joint and go see the Simpson’s Movie.  I need a good laugh.

6 responses to “It’s Raining

  1. Dude, I’d kill for 70 + degree temps right now. It is supposed to be 102 degrees tomorrow!

    Ugh!

  2. ah weather.
    i hope the movie was cheerful for you!

  3. And Leon wants me to move out to the Pacific Northwest eventually. I can envision myself slashing my wrists after a mere six months.

    Have fun seeing Todd. A dream goes on forever…

  4. As we used to say waaaayyyyy back when I was young, “Todd is God.” Sorry to hear about the crappy weather. We are in the midst of an on again off again heat wave here. On the menu today, 90’s with a humidity level of 100% causing it to feel like it’s in the 100 range. Still, it’s better than cold.

  5. Tonka – about the time you get here we should be back in the 80’s but without all that nasty humidity you’re dealing with.

    Spo – The movie was a definite pick-me-up. I highly recommend it.

    Doug – It’s rarely this bad. The last time we had a “green tomato summer’ was 11 years ago. I just go home, turn on all the lights and put on some happy music! Speaking of which…you seem to know your Todd.

    Tony – You’re not that old! If you are…I want in on the secret. You look great!!

  6. oh my gosh! i havent’ thought about todd rundgren in YEARS!!! have to haul out that album now, take a listen.

    gray skies and temps in the mid-70’s for over a week in August… well boo fucking hoo. poor baby. i’ll swap you one hellish blast furnace for gray skies and temps in the ’70s, ya wanna??

Leave a Reply

