Queersville!

q-ville.jpg

Last night Mark and went down to Queersville for a screening of Daniel G. Karslake’s outstanding documentary “for the Bible tells me so” as part of the Portland Lesbian and Gay Film Festival.

This is one of the most powerful films I’ve seen on the subject of religion and homosexuality and we stayed up way past our bedtime talking about it. I still cannot get it out of my head. As you can imagine, some of the stories are heartbreaking but others are equally heartwarming so do yourself a favor and put this on your calendar. It is brilliant, brilliant filmmaking!

You can find the screening schedule here.

6 responses to “Queersville!

  1. Wasn’t it great?! Very moving movie, and yes, we were there too. Small world. 🙂

    I really valued the perspectives and background on the bible quoting, context, and cultural knowledge. And of course the wonderful Reitan family and their support of their son just had me in tears….And to think that upon confirmation as a bishop, Gene Robinson had to wear a bullet proof vest. In church. Amazing, amazing world we live in, isn’t it?

  2. I thought you’d be there…given your appreciation of all things religious. 😉

    I was especially touched by Mary Lou Wallner whose daughter committed suicide. She has steeled herself against the world (thanks to James Dobson) to the point that she doesn’t even tear up when talking of her daughters death.

    James Dobson is at least partially, if not fully, responsible for her daughters death and her guilt.
    Sad, sad story.

  3. thank you for the tip; is it based on the book with the same title?

  4. I will be seeing this at the Music Box theater in Chicago. Thanks for the heads up!

  5. Rodg….
    The previous sounded interesting. It’s showing practically in my backyard but I don’t know if I’ll catch it in time. Love the Bridge pic! Hope all is well with you. Still have thoughts of getting up there. Hug.

  6. damn, that trailer gave me goosebumps. and it will be in tulsa in another week. yay!! thanks for the tip. it looks like a powerful, important film.

Leave a Reply

