Have I Got a Tip for You!

We spent Saturday evening lighting our tree so we could spend Sunday decorating. The forecast called for a windstorm to hit early Sunday and since windstorms always result in power outages up here we were happy to get the lights finished. The trimming could be done in the dark light of day and would be the perfect way to ride out the storm. When we finished the lights I decided to throw together a quick snack. This was the result…

finger1.jpg

Well…this was the final result…the actual result is far more gruesome than even I wanted to photograph.

I thought it was just the usual careless cut as there was only one drop of blood on the cutting board but once I reached the bathroom and put my finger under running water I was stunned at the reality. Half of my fingertip, nail included, is gone. I kid you not…half the finger tip is gone and I missed the nail bed by a millimeter.

Of course the last place I wanted to spend my Saturday night was at the emergency room so after dousing the wound with hydrogen peroxide and smothering it with Neosporin I wrapped it tight and waited for the bleeding to subside. I waited…and waited…and waited…and finally, the blood quit running out of the bandage. I finished cooking, ate and went to bed.

Sunday morning while changing the bandage, the bleeding started again with a fury. I wanted to wait until Monday when I could see my doctor so I wrapped it tightly again, took a Percocet and applied pressure to stop the bleeding…again. Needless to say I didn’t get any tree trimming done, but I did get to watch most of the Seahawks game as I slid in and out of consciousness. Sunday evening I took off the outer bandage to asses the situation and found fresh blood. All day long I had actually been bleeding lightly, which was probably the case the preceeding night as well, so I threw in the towel and decided to go to the ER.

Fortunately, Sunday evening was the perfect time to go to the ER as I was taken in immediately and on my way home and hour later. They treated me by applying Gel Foam which they press firmly into the freshly cleaned wound and holding it there for 10 minutes. What ever happened to stitches…or at least anaesthesia? Damn that shit hurt!! Even another Percocet didn’t help after that and I spent the entire night tossing and turning, with a throbbing finger and listening to the winds gusting through the trees with such force they even drowned out Mark’s snoring. Then, sometime around 4:00 this morning I had a thought…

Where did my fingertip go?

16 responses to “Have I Got a Tip for You!

  1. Ohhhhhhh……*beurk!*

    What kind of a snack did you make? Was it flesh colored and chewy?

    Kidding aside, I’m sorry to see you have injured yourself! I hope it heals quickly!

  2. dreadful news.
    please get well.

  3. OK Rodg….thanks for that little tidbit of news. All the memories from my first job working in a delicatessan just came flooding back, in particular one incident. Here goes…imagine slicing salami and running your finger through the meat slicer. You got it…it happened to me. gosh my stomach is turning thinking about it. See what you started. LMAO!!

  4. dang! sorry to hear it. the strange coincidence is that my dad just cut off the tips of two fingers while making tables for my sister.

    i am keeping my hands in my pockets (or maybe R’s pockets) for safe keeping….

  5. Your post illistrates beautifully why I decided not to get the extra letters “MD” after my name. I’m sitting here squirming in my seat as I read your post. Get better and heal well.

  6. OUCH!

    I did that a couple of years ago with a new Pampered Chef knife. And instead of stitches, I got this “Super Glue” substance applied by a VERY hunky and furry doctor in the ER (he was wearing his scrubs, so the v-neck exposed a good amount of chest hair). He was very friendly and I guess impatient for the glue to dry, because at one point he was blowing on my finger to get the stuff to set. I think at that point I nearly passed out…..

  7. I just got over a knife mishap as well, and damn near cut off the end of a finger. I hadn’t sharpened my knives in awhile (big mistake, sharp knife=safe knife) and was being stupid and back slicing towards my opposite hand. Blade skips cause of dullness, and the pressure I was applying sent it into the index finger of my other hand. OUCH. Hope you are better soon, and am virtually kissing your booboo to make it all better.

  8. Bringing back fond memories of my picture framing days. Like the time that my mat knife skipped up off the straight edge and you guessed it. It was even funnier when one of my co-workers found the finger section.

    The only thing that was even more fun was the time a co-worker stapled my thumb to a canvas stretcher with a pneumatic stapler. Good times!

  9. Aw, come on, where are the pics? You can’t tell a good slice-n-dice with no photos! So sorry about your ouchie, not a feeling.

    But hey, at least you saw the game, eh? How ’bout that Lofa Tatupu?!

  10. (um, that was supposed to be “not a GOOD feeling”.)

  11. I forgot to mention that I like big hands…

  12. Of course the last place I wanted to spend my Saturday night was at the emergency room so after dousing the wound with hydrogen peroxide and smothering it with Neosporin I wrapped it tight and waited for the bleeding to subside. I waited…and waited…and waited…and finally, the blood quit running out of the bandage. I finished cooking, ate and went to bed.

    Sunday morning while changing the bandage, the bleeding started again with a fury. I wanted to wait u. . . Needless to say I didn’t get any tree trimming done, but I did get to watch most of the Seahawks game as I slid in and out of consciousness. . . . Sunday evening I took off the outer bandage to asses the situation and found fresh blood. All day long I had actually been bleeding lightly, which was probably the case the preceeding night as well, so I threw in the towel and decided to go to the ER.

    i just have to say, gay, straight or otherwise, that is typical behavior for those possessing a penis. damn, y’all are flat out crazy.

    so sorry you’re wounded. eek! maybe you ate your finger? that’s kind of giving me a cringey sort of feeling where my teeth root to my jaw. ouch.

    hope you’re on the mend. it makes me think of those people who cut off their body parts on purpose. what must that be like? just reading about your finger makes me kind of weak . . .

  13. Ya’ll are too kind…and too funny. I really needed a pick me up and you certainly did it. Thanks!!

  14. Guess we should keep you out of the booze when you are handling sharp objects……..

  15. OUCH! WOW. I feel for you. I would be the biggest baby if that happened to me. Hope it heels back perfectly!

  16. A hate throbbing appendages. Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

