Back in the Spring…er…Swing

I haven’t been inspired to post for a while thanks to all the stress at work and a number of little things like telling my assistant her job has been eliminated. That one act is the most unpleasant thing I’ve had to do in the past nine years at this job and is terribly difficult…for both of us. Yes, it’s much harder on her since she’ll be without work and has to start searching for a new job but it still makes me feel like shite.

With all the crap at work, the trip to CA was much needed. I hadn’t realized how much until about the third day when I noticed I hadn’t even thought about checking my work email or voice mail and better yet, they hadn’t called. This is highly unusual and, I’m sure, partly by design since the Big Guy knows my workload is increasing and he wanted me to enjoy my time away.

And…enjoy I did!

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get together with a lot of folks I wanted to see since I hadn’t been home for a couple years and really needed to concentrate on family. I did get to spend some time with my dear friends Serafina and David though and by mid-day Monday, after walking with them and their beautiful dogs Glinda and Abby…

glinda.jpg

(Glinda)

abby.jpg

(Abby…the beauty)

…through the park and along the beach…

beach-alameda.jpg

…vacation mode was in full swing and all responsible thoughts melted away in the California sunshine.

cypress-tree.jpg

I won’t get into details here, since Mark seems to be posting them (damn wordpress won’t let me link for some reason), but I will say that I ate far too much and one night I had a little too much to drink, but hey…it was vacation right?

Now, back home and back in the office, I’ve finally caught up on all the work that piled up on my desk. The spring-like weather, the budding trees, returning birds and longer hours of daylight were a pleasant welcome and are keeping the stress and general malaise at bay. I’ve even started pulling pots of the hardier perennials from the woodshed. Yes, spring is just around the corner and I look forward to spending more time in the yard and filling the deck with flowers.

I hadn’t realized how much my mood had been affected until I had the chance to sit back and let it all go. I must pay more attention next winter so I can try and stop the funk before it overwhelms me. Now though, I’m feeling refreshed and I’m looking forward to getting back into the swing of things.

7 responses to “Back in the Spring…er…Swing

  1. i haven’t been inspired to post much here lately either. work consumes most of my time during the week and the weekend is spent trying to recover then it starts all over again…..whew….

  2. Now wait a minute! You guys were here and you didn’t tell me!?!?! 😛

  3. hurray!
    I am always thrilled to see you post Rodger
    I am even more happy to hear you are doing OK.

  4. Great to hear your voice again. Sounds like the California trip was a very successful vacation.

    >I ate far too much and one night I had a little too much to drink, but hey…it was vacation right?

    Sounds like our cruise. I discovered that wondering what an appletini tastes like does have its consequences.

  5. Oh I’m so envious. The NW winter funk is a real bitch. So glad you had a good time. The sunny breeze was practically wafting out of my computer…

  6. Sounds like you had a marvelous trip to the Bay Area. I really wish we could have met up. I’m still looking at a weekend to come up there to visit you and to also see Mark (CityWOOF). That may be in late April or early May.

  7. Glad you had a good time, and a much needed break. Those pits are gorgeous. My next adopted pet, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

