Bowling Injury

I’ve injured myself bowling. As if the mere fact that a grown man in a non-intoxicated state chose to go bowling isn’t embarrassing enough, I have the added glory of having injured myself playing a non-contact sport.

My left knee, which absorbed the stress of my weight as I slid within millimeters of the foul line to deliver the ball upon the lane is rebelling by not holding up when I walk. Thus, I keep finding myself on the ground…and it’s not pretty.

I can go hiking, running, till the garden and split firewood all day long and maybe have a few tight muscles but this is ridiculous. I can’t sit or get up without support and getting in and out of the car is embarrassing. I know for a fact those people in the parking lot were not laughing with me!

I’m not sure what inspired me to agree to the suggestion of bowling other than the fact that is was random and spontaneous. In fact, it actually sounded…fun. Really. And, it was fun. So, we bowled into the wee hours and now I’m left with a painful knee and no dignity. Someday I’ll grow up and realize that I have to be more careful when having fun at my age. Then again, probably not.

5 responses to “Bowling Injury

  1. Sounds like my hip injury, from simply walking to my car on a snowy morning. Has it been looked at yet? Hope you aren’t too bad off, NY is only two months away…

  2. poor you! do you have one of those knee support things? they do help – the son had to have one last fall. See? he’s only 15, it’s not so bad. Then again … he was playing football.

  3. i am sad for you and your knee
    perhaps it is from your mistake to bowl and NOT be intoxicated.
    i’ve never heard of such as thing

    get well soon.

  4. You were bowling and you WEREN’T drunk. It’s your own fault. One of the rules of bowling is you’re not supposed to attempt it unless you are either, drunk, or getting drunk.

    It’s in the rules. I’m surprised they didn’t have it posted at the lanes. You might be able to sue.

  5. I hope that you are recovering from your bowling injury and will be able to type again soon.

Leave a Reply

