…and I haven’t a thing to wear!

Friday afternoon our Associate Director was contacted by a certain VIP regarding a visit to his lab. Information was sketchy but by the end of the day I was informed it was probably Bill Clinton. Of course the person sharing this information with me was still uncertain so I let it pass without much thought.

On my way home I was listening to the evening news and heard that Bill would be in Portland on Sunday to do some campaigning for Hillary but none of the sites mentioned were near campus. Of course it’s entirely possible he could swing by for an unpublicized visit but I’m sure I would have been informed if that were the case. I do work for the Director and he would certainly be informed of a visit of this magnitude, even if he is out of the country this week.

Saturday evening the news reported that Clinton had added a couple stops on his trip and one is Monday morning at the university. Not having heard from the Associate Director or the Big Guy, I figured the lab visit was off the table but planned for an early arrival to make my way around the various security obstacles that are sure to be in place.

This afternoon I received a call from our AD asking if our lecture room was available tomorrow morning because Bill would need the space for meetings. I assured him we could make the necessary adjustments. As if I really have a say.

I’m not thrilled with some of the shit that has come out of Bill Clinton’s mouth lately but I do think he was a decent President. Therefore, I’m kind of looking forward to this little bit of excitement on campus but not so much the purpose of the visit. It’s all about money, and Hillary’s weak chances in this very blue state. We’ll see how things go.

Maybe I should wear my blue dress!

7 responses to “…and I haven’t a thing to wear!

  1. bill has been an ass of late, but he is human, as he has proven before. i still love him. i think it’s his very humanity that makes me such a sucker for him. he’s just a big, brilliant, weak, thoughtful, charming, charismatic, arrogant, ego-driven man, as imperfect as most of us are, just more publicly so. i’m envious 🙂

  2. heavens to betsy, such news!
    no blue dress please; it may give him heart failure – unless that is your goal.

  3. I have mixed feelings about WJC these days. Still, I’d love to meet him.

  4. I liked having him as my president, but like you, I am not at all happy with his recent campaign tactics. I would forgo the blue dress, and just install a gloryhole in the nearest men’s room. You KNOW he won’t be able to resist sticking it through. Overall, I like the man despite the public foibles.

  5. All – I too like Bill, a lot, but I’m just disappointed he’d stoop so low to get Hillary elected. Of course she did stand by him, if for nothing more than what he’s doing for her now.

    I did spend my morning jockeying for position with all the others to catch a glimpse of him in the flesh (pun not intended) and did get to see him briefly. I was not about to wait in line to hear him stump for Hillary though.

    All in all an exciting morning which I’ll share soon.

  6. Wow! Very exciting. I’d like to meet Bill! I bet I could even make myself up like a blonde Monica. Maybe that would catch his eye. 😛

  7. Miss ya bud! Hope all is well…drop me an email and catch me up on the happenings. Feel so disconnected these days. Work or maybe finances a bit rough at the moment. Reduction of work hours at my commercial int. design job and pushing this new business taking its toll/

Leave a Reply

