Tidying Up

It’s been a busy couple of days since the house guests left, putting the house back in order, cleaning up the loose ends at work, and ironing out the details for our trip to NYC.

We leave Thursday morning and I’m beginning to feel a bit anxious. This trip was originally planned as a small gathering of those bloggers that had, or tried, to make it to the Boston gathering last fall. Now, it’s been rolled into the annual NYC gathering which historically has been a fairly large group. Don’t get me wrong, I’m definitely looking forward to meeting these folks, but I’m a little uneasy in large groups of people I don’t, or barely, know.

It takes me a little time to feel comfortable in these situations, kind of like accompanying a spouse to a work gathering, so I live by the rule: “take your own party”. Mark will be with me and he’s one of the most social people I’ve ever met yet even he’s admitted to a little anxiety but, he’s my party, so I’m sure we’ll have a good time. Better yet, Tony and Tate will be there and we’ll be meeting them for lunch before the main event and that will add to “our party”. So, for now, I’m busying myself with the usual travel preparations and trying not to think beyond our lunch with the gurrrls. I feel I know them well enough that we’ll fall into comfortable camaraderie in no time.

And…if I don’t feel comfortable after the meet and greet that night…I won’t have any trouble finding something to do for the next four days. After all…it’s hard to be bored in NYC.

4 responses to “Tidying Up

  1. i hope you two have a good time. I hope you meet a lot of people you are only slightly familiar via the blog land.

  2. Have a great time. I want all the dirt when you get back.

  3. If you are nervous when we gather at HK Friday evening, just imagine everyone in their underwear. That way you will at least be nervous AND horny. It’s going to be a blast whether or not personalities mesh, there are always millions of other options in NYC. I don’t like big crowds either, but I always imagine just a bunch of small groups loitering around a large space, I also believe in Xanax when the going gets rough, but have no plans of needing it this trip.

  4. You’re going to be fine. I don’t have anxiety about meeting new people, but meeting fellow bloggers who have much more substantial blogs than mine. I just do silly stuff and smut and sometimes by comparison, my blog is shit.

    But on the bright side, I get to meet you at lunch on Friday as well.

Leave a Reply

