Moonbow

Hanging in Parkdale with Toni and John, I took the dog out about 10 PM and was stunned to see a rare phenomenon on the horizon. I peeked back into the house and called everyone out to see this…

It’s not the best picture since I didn’t have my tripod…and it was freezing out with high winds…but making a composite of 3 different exposures with some trial software this is the best I could come up with on the fly.

(click pic for larger view)

10 responses to “Moonbow

  1. wow that is very cool

  2. Wow, what an extraordinary sight! I had never even heard of such a thing.

  3. yes, very wow. i had no idea either. i am in equal awe in your photographic ability to capture it.

    super cool indeed.

  4. That. Is. So Cool. Extraordinary sight, extraordinary photo!

    A good omen for the new year indeed. Hope the good juju rubs off on your hamlet neighbors.

  5. If you didn’t have the pic, I say you were bs-ing. When I was growing up, my father used to tell me to be careful of getting a moon burn on summer nights with a bright full moon.

  6. I think it must be some sort of good luck for you.

  7. Extremely beautiful, Rodger–I assume there was a fine mist in the air? I’ve never seen anything like it.

  8. When I saw the title, I assumed that you had photographed a halo around the moon. They can be quite beautiful- but this is WAY more interesting. That’s an amazing photo. Happy New Year to you and Mark.

  9. Rodger this is really something – I didn’t know about this before. Very glad you got this on film to share.

  10. That’s gorgeous. I never knew such a thing was possible.

Leave a Reply

