Owl

I spent Sunday under the influence of muscle relaxants thanks to spasms in my shoulder and neck. After some reading and short nap I decided I needed to do something productive so I grabbed the camera to download some photos. I set it on the table, turned to get the laptop and something caught my eye. I looked out the window but didn’t see anything. Then…it struck me…a large tree stump on the side of the hill looked “different”. I looked closer and was surprised to see this massive, Great Horned Owl sitting atop the stump casing the yard for lunch. It seemed odd that he would be out hunting at 2:00 in the afternoon, on a sunny day, but I’m glad he stopped by.


(click on pics for larger view)

Unfortunately, my telephoto lens was in the camera bag in the other room and I was worried he’d fly off before I changed lenses, so all you get are these.

Maybe I should stay home on drugs more often.

3 responses to “Owl

  1. Wow. You can really see the owl (LOOKING RIGHT AT YOU) when you enlarge the first photo. Awesome Owl! Not so awesome back pains. Sorry ’bout that.

  2. I love owls! Thank you for posting and this especially !

  3. i enjoyed two methacarbomals last night myself with a side of ibuprofin – all for the arthritis flare up in my neck that causes the tight and pain in neck, shoulder and arm (right side). but i didn’t have any cool spirit totem visions like you.

    grin…..

Leave a Reply

