Daily Archives: July 17, 2007

Lunch

Every week at work there is a farmer’s market under the trees near the central fountain.  On Tuesday afternoons I take the short walk from my office to this wonderland of fresh fruits, veggies, soups, cheeses, breads and music.  I’ve learned not to bring my lunch on Tuesdays and to eat breakfast a little later so I can head to the market in the afternoon.

I usually pick up some berries and a bowl of soup then sit in the grass and listen to the music while I enjoy a little summer sun. Today, it’s raining, so I’ve come back to my desk to eat my pineapple gazpacho and half-pint of raspberries. There’s nothing better than fresh light food to make it feel like summer even on a gray, wet day.

It looks like we’ll be making pickles and apricot jam this coming weekend.  I wonder what a pickle and apricot jam sandwich tastes like?  I could make one…but I’m really not that curious.  You think Elvis ever ate a pickle and apricot jam sandwich or did he stick to peanut butter and banana’s?

My mind is wandering because I don’t want to get back into the boring task I’m working on.  Fortunately, it’s a once a month task and I won’t have to think about it again for a while so I better go finish up. Better yet, I just looked at the calendar and next months meeting will probably be canceled so if I finish up today, I’m of the hook for two months.  Yipee!!