Daily Archives: July 31, 2007

Summer’s Bounty

Friday night’s little skateboard exercise really wasn’t all that bad. Aside from rendering me a bit gimpy on Saturday I was still able to take the boys to the river.

mandog.jpg

Then make a stop at the local grower for some apricots followed by a visit to a nearby orchard to pick peaches.

Sunday was overcast and ugly so we turned this…

cots.jpg

…into this…

apricot-jam.jpg

…with a simple wave of our wands. There must have been some magic involved because we ended up with 48 jars, about a dozen more than expected.

Between batches of jam I noticed his pretty lady out in the yard with a her fawn.

doe.jpg

I couldn’t get a shot of the fawn but Mark said s/he still had spots.

Monday evening while Mark was at the neighbors swimming I pulled out the box of peaches and threw together a pie. I’ve never actually made a peach pie before and it didn’t seem to be browning properly and the dough looked like it was melting. I was pretty annoyed knowing the dough would be tough and chewy but when I finally pulled this beauty from the oven…

pie2.jpg

…it was pure flaky goodness, even if it didn’t look pretty. (I need to work on my edges)

Yep, it was a great weekend, and with warm weather and no rain, there’s no better way to spend the weekend than putzing around enjoying the treats summer has to offer.